Randy Owen Of Alabama, Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr., Jeffrey Steele To Be Inducted Into Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF) announced yesterday (Aug. 15) that Randy Owen of country group Alabama and songwriters Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr., and Jeffrey Steele are this year’s inductees into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The four will be officially inducted during a ceremony on Oct. 13 at Music City Center in Nashville.

“Among all the great songwriters who have put the music in Music City, only a few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” said Pat Alger, chair of the foundation’s board of directors, in a press statement. “This year we are delighted to bestow this honor upon Will Jennings and Jeffrey Steele in the songwriter category; Randy Owen in the songwriter/artist category, and Layng Martine Jr. in the veteran songwriter category.”

Country fans are certainly familiar with Owen, thanks to his work as lead vocalist and songwriter for Alabama. Inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame back in 2005, the group has racked up dozens of hit songs and best-selling albums since they first began recording in the 1970s. Alabama songs written by Owens include “Mountain Music,” “Lady Down on Love” and “Tennessee River.”

Read more about the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame on Radio.com


More From Y108 Pittsburgh's Country

Family Fitness Fest
Send Me Backstage

Listen Live